Movie Talk

Hi! So I tried a MovieTalk with my 4th and 5th grade classes last Friday and I’m excited to say it was a success! Prior to beginning of the MovieTalk, the class and I had a quick chat about how the activity was going to be entirely in Spanish. The students’ job was to listen, observe the drawings on the board, read words on the board (in Spanish and English) and just follow my cues. No one was expected to speak unless they wanted to…….but only in Spanish. No translating was allowed.  Most students were ready for the challenge but a few were hesitant.

I showed the students short clips (1-2 sec) of an animated short with the sound off and described what was going on in Spanish. Student enjoyed the drawings and appreciated the SLOW talk (something teachers must do with the CI method) and the constant repetition while ascertaining meaning.

Before class ended, I stopped short and let the students watch the entire animated short with the sound on.  It was only a minute long but the students laughed along and loved the surprise ending.  I was hoping all the Spanish we discussed was rolling around in their heads as they watched. After the lesson was over, we had a few minutes to reflect and they all agreed that the activity was easier than expected.  I would love to hear any feedback your child may have given you.

Since this lesson was so successful, I am looking forward to having more MovieTalks this year.  We will try to incorporate them a couple times a month and I’m hoping to tie in some Latin American culture and holidays along with the themes. Next time I will also make sure to take pictures to post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *